Hi There! (again)

Why hello there! My name is Alena Colborn. I’m a sassy southerner from southern Virginia. I grew up in a town where everybody knows everyone and you always go to church on Sundays. A great deal of people ask me why I decided to go to a college that is over 400 miles away. However, the decision was fairly simple. I’ve been traveling to Lexington, KY and Louisville, KY practically my whole life because my family lives here. It only made sense to come here for college. I’m a junior Communications major with a minor in Sociology. I started out as a Biology/Pre-Med student that was hoping to go into Optometry after I graduated. That idea only lasted about a semester once I started school.

I have a few ideas of what I want to do after I graduate abut I’m still pretty uncertain. I’m really interested in the training and development side of human resources. However, I feel myself pulled towards College-Student Personnel too. I hope to figure out things before I start my senior year next fall. 

I am so excited for my COMM 460: Social Media class. We are creating a social media campaign for a real client. I was assigned to UofL Athletics and I’m stoked. I had an internship over the summer with LEAP Agency with creating and implementing a social media campaign with UofL’s Career Development Center. I’m really looking forward to this opportunity and to be learning so much. To be able to say that I’ve done this while I was still in my undergrad, is such a great resume builder. 

My goals for this class is to learn and take in as much information as I can for not only my class project but also for the UofL Career Development Center’s social media presence as well. To see both of these social media plans to be successful is the ultimate goal and would make me really happy. I’m also interested in as how much I’ll really enjoy this class and whether or not I want to pursue a career in this field or something similar to it. I’m set on learning from experiences. This class is definitely going to be one of those great learning times. 

Now I’m writing this blog, honestly, because I have to. Once, I googled my name and I was surprised, and a little afraid, at how much information about me is out in cyber space. So I like to keep my personal media presence to a minimum. I have a personal blog that I use very rarely only as a way for my family to get a quick update on what I’m doing and it’s fairly private. 

Overall, I’m really looking forward to the opportunities and different things I will be presented with to learn in this class! 

Leave a comment